Saturday, August 20, 2011

Has it really been that long?

Hey everyone. Not sure if anyone is still checking in on this thing but to those that are the question that labels this post still stands. I can't believe it has been a year since I graduated from PA school. It stills seems like I just walked across the stage and grabbed my paper degree and then had the daunting thought that, "People are going to expect me to know stuff.. for real now?" Needless to say, that was a humbling thought. But I feel I am managing, and after about a year of practicing I feel I am getting the hang of some of the things I do on a daily basis. Maybe a better way of putting that is I am getting faster and becoming more productive at those things. I still am learning everyday, without a doubt. The learning curve has been pretty intense. But that is probably to be expected considering I am a Hospitalist PA working in Internal Medicine. I like to say that in Internal Med we have to know a little bit about a lot. (Okay, so maybe more than a little bit but you get the point.) That can be and is certainly a source of frustration for me because I am so new and the learning curve is darn near vertical. My saving grace a lot of the time has been a website called uptodate.com. If you have never heard of it, check it out. It has been a great resource for me and is extremely easy to use and search for information with. It is pricey so I generally don't think it would be very good for a student. But in my eyes, possibly a necessity for the practicing PA who can afford the subscription.

Sorry, a little plug there. And by the way, I in no way have any stock in this website. I just think it really is a great resource. One that is consistently being updated and is user friendly to even the most modest computer user. Plus you earn CME every time you use it.

At any rate ladies and gentlemen. Just wanted to get a quick post up here finally after about a year. Hope everyone is doing well! Until next time.

M-R

Saturday, August 28, 2010

-S to -C


I passed the boards! If feels great. I'll be completely honest. I really wasn't sure when I left the exam suite if I was going to pass. It was pretty tough. I have read that there are two versions of the exam. One slightly harder one, and another that is slightly easier, and exam questions are weighted. So you don't get a percentage at the end as your score. You get a number that is calculated. It took me the entire 6 hours (including breaks) to finish, and it never takes me the whole time to finish an exam. Boy was I tired after all that. I came home and crashed, hard, for about an hour and a half. But it is over, and thankfully I don't have to worry about it for the next 5-6 years!

All in all I actually did well on the boards. I think the reason I left the exam frustrated was because I could only remember the questions that I was sure I got wrong. It was hard for me to even remember any of the questions I was sure I got right. It was sort of the same feeling I had when I left my interview for PA school. I was so focused on the things I "should have said" that I thought it didn't go so well.

Oh well. I passed, and that is all that matters. Now I am just in a waiting game... and it isn't fun. The hospital I will be working at doesn't really count the temporary license as anything. (A fact I wish I would have known before paying the money for one.) And they also want a hard copy of my certificate from NCCPA. Those things are in the works, I just have to wait for them to get to me in the mail. I have done everything else I need to do to start. Now I am just sitting around doing basically... nothing. That might sound like a great thing, but consider this. I have been BUSY every day for the last 24 months. I have always had something I could be studying or brushing up on for something related to school. All of a sudden that all comes to a screeching halt, and it is weird... and... boring. Haha. I am soooo glad to be done with school. I just wish I could find a hobby or something to occupy my time until I start work. Oh well, I guess I'll have to get over the fact that I can sleep in everyday and do whatever I want... and not feel guilty about watching the TV for more than 20mins or playing video games at all! My life is pretty rough right now.... :-)

Til next time,
M-R